Concerned Faculty Columbia University 116th & Broadway New York, NY 10027

Chairman Dave Archambault II Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Building 1 North Standing Rock Avenue Fort Yates, ND 58530

September 4, 2016

## A Statement of Support for the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

We the faculty of Columbia University[1] stand in peaceful and politicized solidarity with Chairman Dave Archambault II, tribal members of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and their allies against the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline, a project of Dallas-based Energy Transfer Partners. This project is not only a violation of treaty rights, but federal law. Although federal law requires The Army Corps of Engineers to consult with the tribe about its sovereign interests, construction began without meaningful consultation. The Army Corps of Engineers disregarded the concerns outlined by the tribe and issued permits to Dakota Access LLC to dig under the Missouri River. Such a move signals the US government's ongoing disregard for tribal nations and their communities—a relationship that has been marked by genocide and structural injustice since the violent founding of the United States—in favor of corporate interests and profit. This is, and has always been, entirely unacceptable.

The Dakota Access Pipeline is an imminent threat to those living on the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation, as well as those who live near the pipeline and rely on water from the Missouri River. The pipeline is a dangerous, grave risk to a primary water source and would be an environmental assault on the community if a spill were to occur. Energy Transfer Partners has assured the people of Standing Rock that the pipeline would be closely monitored, but given the historical relations between Indigenous peoples and the United States, the tribe has little faith that their safety and interests will be upheld. The record on spillage is bleak. In

2012-2013, there were 300 oil pipeline breaks in North Dakota alone. The pipeline will also disturb burial grounds and sacred sites on the tribe's ancestral treaty lands—its proposal marks violation on multiple fronts.

As a collective of scholars, some of whom come from and/or work alongside Indigenous communities, we understand the stakes associated with the propagation of US colonial interests; interests that place the extraction of fossil fuels over a fundamental right to access clean water and a desire to preserve and protect the planet. The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe are not just fighting for their own existence, but for those who are unable to do so and for all the future generations that follow.

Construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline has been temporarily halted, due to the resistance efforts at Standing Rock (and pending a US federal court decision to be released on September 9th, 2016), but we know this fight is far from being over. The faculty of Columbia University will continue to stand with Chairman Archambault, the tribal members, and their allies who are heroically holding the line to stop the pipeline construction. This fight is the fight of all Native peoples and their allies struggling against the imposition of neoliberal development projects that continue to harm humans and homelands alike.

Sincerely,

(Columbia University Faculty, enter names and departmental affiliations)

Audra Simpson, Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology

Paige West, Professor, Department of Anthropology

Elizabeth Povinelli, Franz Boas Professor, Anthropology

John Pemberton, Professor, Anthropology

Marilyn Ivy, Professor, Anthropology

Nan Rothschild, Professor, Dept of Anthropology

Jean E. Howard, Department of English and Comparative Literature

Joseph Massad, Professor, Department of Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies

Sheldon Pollock, Department of Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies

Steven Gregory, Professor, Department of Anthropology and the Institute for Research in African American Studies

Rosalind Morris, Professor, Department of Anthropology

Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, University Professor

Lila Abu-Lughod, Joseph L. Buttenweiser Professor of Social Science, Department of Anthropology

Gray Tuttle, Leila Hadley Luce Associate Professor of Modern Tibet, Department of East Asian Languages And Cultures

Wael Hallaq, Avalon Foundation Professor in the Humanities, MESAAS

Mae Ngai, Lung Family Professor of Asian American Studies and Professor of History

Allison Busch, Associate Professor, Department of Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies

Courtney Bender, Professor, Department of Religion

Gregory Mann, Professor, History Department

Felicity D Scott, Associate Professor, GSAPP

James Schamus, Professor of Professional Practice, School of the Arts

Timothy Mitchell, Professor, MESAAS

Elsa Stamatopoulou, Director, Indigenous Peoples' Rights Program, Institute for the Study of Human Rights/Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race/Anthropology.

Kellie Jones, Associate Professor, Art History and Archaeology

J. Blake Turner, Assistant Professor of Social Science (in Psychiatry) at CUMC

Wayne Proudfoot, Professor, Department of Religion

Patricia Dailey, Associate Professor, English and Comparative Literature, Director, Institute for Research on Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Natasha Lightfoot, Associate Professor, Department of History

Carole S. Vance, Professor, Department of Anthropology

E. Valentine Daniel, Professor, Department of Anthropology

Kevin Fellezs, Assistant Professor, Music

Ben Orlove, Professor, International and Public Affairs, Earth Institute.

Karl Jacoby, Professor, History

Marie Lee, Adjunct Professor, Creative Writing

Mabel O. Wilson, Professor, Architecture

Deborah Paredez, Associate Professor of Professional Practice, School of the Arts & Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race

Claudio Lomnitz, Professor, Department of Anthropology.

J.C. Salyer, Term Assistant Professor of Practice, Sociology

Vanessa Agard-Jones, Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology

Naor Ben-Yehoyada, Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology

Brinkley Messick, Professor, Department of Anthropology