“How to: Indigenous Governance and Diplomacy for the NOW” A series of webinars

Monday, August 24, 2020

The Institute’s Indigenous Peoples Rights Program was pleased to participate in the initiative of indigenous leaders, media and support organizations in a series of webinars under the title “How to: Indigenous Governance and Diplomacy for the NOW”. The seminars have been organized for July and August 2020 by The Gomaluku Podcast in collaboration with Tuomas Aslak Juuso (President of the Saami Parliament in Finland), DOCIP (Center for Documentation of Indigenous Peoples), Drumbeat Media and TV Indigena.

The series has brought an impressive list of indigenous leaders in governance and diplomacy including experts, heads of indigenous governments, and other notables joining 1:1 conversations with Ghazali Ohorella to provide tangible actions Indigenous Peoples, Nations, organizations, experts, influencers, and individuals at large can take to go strong in their approaches on indigenous governance and diplomacy as we define the "new normal" and make a REAL difference.

The organizers placed links to the 1:1 conversations on youtube, please see below. Elsa Stamatopoulou, Director of the Institute’s Indigenous Peoples Rights Program participated on 25 July and 21 August 2020 (see link below). 

  • Tuomas Aslak Juuso / President , Sami Parliament in Finland⁠
  • Carson Kiburo / Co-chair, Global Indigenous Youth Caucus⁠
  • Prof. Megan Davis / UNEMRIP member & Pro-Vice-Chancellor Indigenous UNSW⁠
  • Mai Thin Yu Mon / Program Director, Indigenous Peoples Development Program, Chin Human Rights Organization⁠
  • Raja Devasish Roy / Hereditary chief of the Chakmas and former UNPFII member⁠
  • Jose Francisco Cali Tzay / UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and former member of the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) ⁠
  • Laila Susanne Vars / Chair UNEMRIP and President of the Sami University⁠
  • Chief Willie Littlechild / International Chief of treaties 6, 7 and 8, and former UNPFII and UNEMRIP member.
  • Jocelyn Ting-Hui Hung Chien / Association for Taiwan Indigenous Peoples' Policies & Former Co-chair Global Indigenous Youth Caucus
  • Dr. Claire Charters / Assistant Professor University of Auckland Law School & Former adviser to the President of the General Assembly
  • Chandra Roy-Henriksen / Chief Secretariat Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
  • Kenneth Deer / Haudenosaunee external relations committee
  • Tania Pariona / Representative Congress of Peru & Former Co-chair Co-chair Global Indigenous Youth Caucus
  • Graeme Reed / Co-chair International Indigenous Peoples Forum on Climate Change & Senior Advisor Assembly of First Nations
  • Dalee Sambo Dorough / International Chair Inuit Circumpolar Council
  • Les Malezer / Chairperson of FAIRA Aboriginal Corporation & Former member UNPFII
  • Hunanatu Matoke / Secretary General Saniri Alifuru
  • Rodion Sulyandziga / Director, Center for support of indigenous peoples of the North & Member EMRIP
  • Mariam Wallet Aboubakrine / Temporary Committee on Enhanced Participation & Former Chair UNPFII
  • Hortencia Hidalgo / Centro de Comunicación e Investigación Indígena Chaskinayrampi
  • Andrea Carmen / Executive Director International Indian Treaty Council
  • Elsa Stamatopoulou / Director, Indigenous Peoples Rights Program, Columbia University
  • Johnson Cerda / Director, DGM Global Executing Agency
  • Rukka Sombolinggi / Secretary General Alliansi Masyarakat Adat Nusantara (AMAN)
  • Handaine Mohamed / Chairperson, Indigenous Peoples of Africa Co-ordinating Committee  (IPACC)
  • Tove Søvndahl Gant / Expert Member Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
  • Rune Fjellheim / Director General, Sámi Parliament of Norway
  • Hortencia Hidalgo / Centro de Comunicación e Investigación Indígena Chaskinayrampi
  • Estebancio Castro-Diaz / Vice President, Asociación Indígena para el Desarrollo y Conservación Ambiental (AIDCA)
  • Aili Kesitalo / President, Sami Parliament in Norway
  • Binota May Dhamai / Executive Council, Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact
  • Tarcila Rivera Zea / Continental Coordinator, The Continental Network Of Indigenous Women Of The Americas
  • Pavel Sulyandziga / President, International Indigenous Fund For Development and Solidarity “Batani"
  • Frank Ettawageshik / Former Tribal Chairman, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians.
[Handaine’s segment was too short as the communication was disconnected after his introduction. The organizers are trying to find a solution].