Wednesday, February 14, 2024

Congratulations to Taylor Rae Almonte-Roman, HRSMA student, on receiving one of the 2023-2024 Social Justice Mini-Grants for her podcast, On the Outside.

According to University Life, the grant is awarded to “innovative ideas for projects and programs that will prompt important discussion, reflection and learning for our community about racial, economic, accessibility, educational, and other inequities.”

Thursday, January 18, 2024
The Institute for the Study of Human Rights at Columbia University proudly announces the formation of the Human Rights Advocates Program (HRAP) Alumni Committee. Established in the fall of 2023, the Committee is charged with identifying and exploring new funding possibilities for HRAP, increasing the visibility of the program, and reaching out to the HRAP alumni community throughout 2024 as HRAP marks its 35th anniversary. The chair of the committee, Nazibrola Janezashvili, said “I am proud to give back to HRAP as the inaugural chairperson of the alumni committee.
Wednesday, January 17, 2024

The Institute for the Study of Human Rights (ISHR) is pleased to welcome the 2023-24 HRAP cohort. HRAP was founded at ISHR in 1989 to strengthen the bonds between the academic learning community at Columbia and human rights practitioners. This year marks the program’s 35th anniversary. 

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

The Institute for the Study of Human Rights mourns the death on January 7, 2024, of J. Paul Martin who, with Professor of Law and University Professor Louis Henkin, created the Center for the Study of Human Rights (CSHR) at Columbia University in 1978. Along with colleagues Arthur Danto and Mitchell Ginsberg, Paul and Lou pioneered the study of human rights as an interdisciplinary field that not only involved multiple forms of practice—from law to public health, journalism to advocacy—but also engaged directly with the humanities and the social sciences.

Monday, January 15, 2024

Mary Olson, who graduated from Columbia College’s B.A. in Human Rights in 2021, was recently selected to be a 2024 Marshall Scholar. Read more about her time as a student and her plans for the future.